Latest News:

05.05.2023 The conference dinner will be held on Thursday, May 25th at the “Klammhaus an der Partnach”. Bus transfers will be provided for all attendees. In order to allow the restaurant to prepare the meals according to your dietary preferences, we require you to fill out an online questionnaire (for you as well as for accompanying persons if any), which can be accessed through the following link.  There you can select between three different meals.  YOUR RESPONSE IS REQUIRED BEFORE MAY 10th.

It is crucial that you complete and submit the form by Wednesday, May 10th, as we need to provide the restaurant with this information. Failure to submit your preferences by the deadline will result in the ordering of the vegan/vegetarian option for you to avoid any potential issues.

27.04.2023 The conference program and the abstract booklet are available on the website: Please see “Scientific Program”. Furthermore, information on the conference excursion are provided on the same page.

27.04.2023 We are very happy to announce, that the ICSOS Surface Structure Prize for 2023 is awarded to Prof. Dr. Michael Schmid, Technical University of Vienna, Austria, see “ICSOS Prizes”

25.04.2023 A “Deutsche Bahn conference ticket” (“Veranstaltungsticket”) is available: Deutsche Bahn offers reduced train tickets for traveling to the Conference Hotel. For details, see “Venue and Accommodation”.

17.02.2023 The preliminary program is published on the website:  Please see “Scientific Program”.

07.02.2023 New information on the website:  Please see “Scientific Program” and “Venue and Accommodation”. 

Please note that the conference will start with the first scientific session on MONDAY, May, 22nd at 1700 h, and will end on FRIDAY, May, 26nd after lunch at around 1400 h. The conference fee includes all meals starting with dinner on Monday and ending with lunch on Friday, but not the accommodation. Conference dinner and conference excursion are also included. 

31.01.2023 The abstract submission is closed. 

12.01.2023 The conference poster is available. Please feel free to download and display it at appropriate places in your institution or anywhere else you see fit.

12.01.2023: The deadlines for abstract submission, applications for the ICSOS Young Scientist Prize and nominations for the ICSOS Surface Science Prize are extended to 29.01.2023.

The 15th European Conference on Surface Crystallography and Dynamics (ECSCD15) and the 13th International Conference on the Structure of Surfaces (ICSOS13) will be held as a combined event on May 22nd to 26th, 2023 at the Hotel am Badersee ( in Grainau at the foot of the Zugspitze mountain, the highest peak of the German Alps. The conference will be organized by the Peter Grünberg Institute of Forschungszentrum Jülich.

For both series this will be the first conference after the COVID pandemic. It is planned as a face-to-face event and will bring together scientists from all over Europe and the world, who are interested in theoretical and experimental studies of structural and electronic properties of surfaces and interfaces.

Several novel material systems have been in the focus of condensed matter research in recent years. Examples are 2D materials and their heterostructures, TMDCs, and topological materials. For all of them, surfaces and interfaces play an important role. The careful investigation of structural aspects at the surfaces and interfaces of these materials, in addition to more traditional metals, semiconductors and oxides, will be one of the foci of the conference. Other recent developments that will feature prominently are the extension of ultrafast experiments to the investigation of surface structures, the use of angle-resolved photoemission for structural investigations at surfaces, and the possibility to craft atomic and molecular structures with scanning probe microscopes, which allow the creation of designer materials with tailored properties.

We particularly encourage contributions from young scientists. Attending the conference will provide them with an opportunity to meet with experienced and internationally recognized colleagues. Traditionally, beside the renowned “Surface Structure Prize”, the ICSOS series also advertises the “ICSOS Young Scientist Price” for the best PhD thesis in the field. For details of the nomination procedure please refer to the ICSOS Prizes page.

History of ECSCD and ICSOS

ECSCD15 and ICSOS13 are both continuations of successful and long-lasting series of conferences dedicated to structure and dynamics of crystalline surfaces and the related properties and processes. Both series were started in the mid-’80th. While mainly the European surface science community was convening at the ECSCD events, its international sister ICSOS was traveling around the world in an regular triennial schedule. In the last years, both series were suffering from the COVID pandemic: ECSCD-14 could only take place as a rather small online event in 2021. Even worse, ICSOS-13, originally planned to take place in Hefei (China) in 2020 or 2021 had to be cancelled due to (still ongoing) travel and event restrictions in the host country.

Under these circumstances, the scientific committees and boards of both ECSCD and ICSOS believe that a joint in-person event organized in Europe is a good restart for both conference series. We are therefore very happy to announce the ECSCD-15 and ICSOS-13 to take place in May 2023 at one of the most picturesque places in Germany.

Previous Events


Erlangen, Germany (1985)
Cambridge, United Kingdom (1988)
San Miniato, Italy (1991)
Aarhus, Denmark (1993)
Banz, Germany (1995)
La Grande Motte, France (1998)
Leiden, Netherlands (2001)
Segovia, Spain (2004)
Vienna, Austria (2007)
Reading, United Kingdom (2010)
Edinburgh, United Kingdom (2012)
Trieste, Italy (2015)
Donostia-San Sebastian, Spain (2017)
Online only (2021)


Berkeley, USA (1984)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands (1987)
Milwaukee, USA (1990)
Shanghai, China (1993)
Aix-en-Provence, France (1996)
Vancouver, Canada (1999)
Newcastle, Australia (2002)
Munich, Germany (2005)
Salvador, Brazil (2008)
Hong Kong (2011)
Warwick, UK (2014)
Atlanta, USA (2017)